Home > Family > I saw my son today

I saw my son today

My wife is 21 weeks pregnant. This is incredibly exciting. We have wanted this for quite some time, but now it’s actually happening. For real. It’s actual. My offspring is spawning inside my partner’s midsection.

So, I know that this is very routine. It has happened trillions of times over the span of a quarter-million years, but that makes no difference to me. It is as astonishing as it is bizarre, even after hundreds of thousands of years.

We had an ultrasound at seven weeks. At that point, the baby looked like a little kidney bean with a tail. That was weird, but cool. Then over the span of just four weeks, the form of our child changed dramatically. We had another ultrasound at 11 weeks and it actually looked like a real baby. The first thing we saw when the baby appeared on the screen was the profile of the body and a little arm waving back and forth, as if to say, “Hello! I’m here!” It went from being just a bean to an actual human-looking creature in just a month. Then, today, we had a 21 week ultrasound. WHOA.

The nurse technician needed to take all kinds of measurements, so we got to see our baby inside and out, literally. We saw our baby’s face; lips, nose, cheeks, and eye sockets. We saw the brain, the left and right aortic ventricles, the kidneys, the spine, fingers, feet, leg bones, arm bones, bladder (it had recently emptied), and we also saw an unmistakable scrotal sac.

Yes, yes. This is just normal, healthy fetal development. But look at it abstractly. A spawning member of our species is living and growing inside another person’s body. Fourteen weeks ago, he was the size and shape of a kidney bean, and since then he has grown (on his own, mind you) bones, a brain, essential organs and systems, genitals, eyelashes and even fingernails. It’s weird. It kind of blows my mind a little bit, whether it should or not. It’s amazing. I now understand why people refer to it as “the miracle of birth.”

I saw my son today. I love him immeasurably already. I can’t imagine what it will be like when I meet him.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: Family
  1. Diane
    December 10, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I can’t wait to meet him in person, to hold him… I’ve met him through the two of you and through the sound of the boy’s heart beat and his images via the miracle of ultra sound. I hold him in my heart already, of course… I love this boy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

